Research Infrastructure Taskforce: Members & Subcommittees


Baird-James, AllisonAssociate Vice Chancellor/Controller
Burke, JeffAssistant Dean, Technology and Innovation; School of TFT
Coroniti, FerdinandProf Physics and Astronomy
Dimock, ColinAssistant Vice Chancellor, Enviornmental Health and Safety
Goodwin, JeffExecutive Director, Division of Laboratory animal Medicine
Havton, LeifProfessor in Residence, Neurology
Hendrickson, PeterAssociate Vice Chancellor - Design and Construction/Capital Programs
Iruela-Arispe, LuisaProfessor, Molecular, Cell, and Developmental Biology
Mamer, JohnProfessor, Deputy Dean & Chair, Academic Affairs, Anderson School
Marks, VictoriaProfessor, World Arts & Culture
Monbouquette, HalProfessor/Associate Dean Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
Okino, Mary*CFO/Assistant Dean HSSEAS
Presner, Todd*Professor, Germanic Languages
Roth, JeffAssociate Vice Chancellor, Office of Academic Planning & Budget
Santon, SueAssociate Vice Chancellor Capital Planning & Finance
Schmader, KellyAssistant Vice Chancellor, Facilities Management
Smale, SteveDistinguished Professor and Vice Dean for Research - DGSOM
Smith, MarciaAssociate Vice Chancellor, Office of Research Administration
Snyder, LisaProgram Analyst, Office of IT
Steel, VirginiaUniversity Librarian
Von Wachter, TilAssociate Professor, Economics
Wakimoto, RogerVice Chancellor for Research

*Ex-oficio non-voting member

  • Purpose: This sub-committee will identify suitable Dean, Director, Faculty, and Facility representatives to interview on topics related to research infrastructure as well as perform interviews in appropriate formats (1-on-1, groups, town hall meeting, etc.).It would be especially important to receive feedback from recently recruited faculty. The sub-committee should consider interviewing architects who have designed plans for recent infrastructure projects on campus.
  • Members:
    • Colin Dimock
    • Leif Havton (lead)
    • Victoria Marks
    • Susan Santon
    • Lisa Snyder
    • Virginia Steel
  • Purpose: This sub-committee will identify suitable universities such as other UC campuses and other public and private institutions with a campus research complexity that is similar to the one at UCLA as well as reach out and obtain information about how a variety of research infrastructure decisions are made on those other campuses. How these projects are financed on other campuses would also be useful information.
  • Members:
    • Jeff Burke
    • Ferdinand Coroniti
    • Jeff Goodwin
    • Jeff Mamer
    • Jeff Roth (lead)
    • Til von Wachter
  • Purpose: This sub-committee will perform an inventory of usable and non-usable space that is presently on the UCLA campus. Aspects of the inventory may include wet vs dry space, location of space, functionality of space, core facilities, major equipment, space access, what unit “owns” the space, safety and health considerations, etc.
  • Members:
    • Allison Baird-James
    • Hal Monbouquette
    • Luisa Iruela-Arispe
    • Kelly Schmader (lead)
    • Marcia Smith
    • Steve Smale